This site makes extensive use of JavaScript.
Please
enable JavaScript
in your browser.
Classic Theme
Thottbot Theme
Omen of Clarity for Resto Druids
Post Reply
Return to board index
Post by
Trishi
I am pretty sure most of you already know this, but it is confusing me a great deal right now...
Omen of Clarity.. Often, I find RG to be the best use of it, but I have a hard time figuring out exactly
what
Omen of Clarity makes free of charge. With MG, LB gives us 4 % chance to proc OoC, which gives this buff:
"Your damage spells and attacks have a small chance to cause you to enter a Clearcasting state. The Clearcasting state reduces the Mana, Rage or Energy cost of your next cast-time damaging or healing spell or offensive feral ability by 100%."
There is a huge lie here. It doesn't reduce the mana cost of cast-time healing spells by 100 %. Swiftmend doesn't have a cast time, but is still affected. But on the flip-side, Nourish isn't affected, and it obviously have a cast time, which means it should, according to the tooltip.
So... what exactly benefits from OoC? I simply can't figure out the seemingly non-existant pattern this buff uses.
Post by
Raleandris
Those two spells are the only exceptions to the tooltip.
Post by
SeaOfHoles
I use OOC 80% of the time for Regrowth
Post by
GenXCub
I'll be devil's advocate here and say that it doesn't affect Nourish because Regrowth will cast faster, do more healing, and refresh LB just like Nourish does. It would be like OoC not working on Claw for a feral druid.
So maybe they're saying that the tooltip doesn't need to be updated because you really shouldn't use Nourish for OoC.
Post by
260787
This post was from a user who has deleted their account.
Post by
GenXCub
I'll be devil's advocate here and say that it doesn't affect Nourish because Regrowth will cast faster, do more healing, and refresh LB just like Nourish does. It would be like OoC not working on Claw for a feral druid.
So maybe they're saying that the tooltip doesn't need to be updated because you really shouldn't use Nourish for OoC.
Or because Nourish is our filler spell, essentially costs nothing and thus, would be a waste of OoC.
That was the implication, yes. But if it needs to be spelled out...
Post by
260787
This post was from a user who has deleted their account.
Post by
Trishi
Well it would make sense in that case... But isn't the OoC mana reduction base on the time of cast? At least, from what I've seen, RG seems to be free if I manage to hit the button before the Clearcast buff disappears. If that's the case, it would be a pretty rare to accidentially cast Nourish right after a OoC proc.
Either way, I can see the logic behind it. I just sometimes feel that a free Nourish would have been nice once in a while, but that's probably just a case of me being too lazy to move my hand from the Nourish button to the Regrowth button ^^;;; I'll just have to suck it up then.
Still too bad it doesn't work with the other instant cast spells. Thorns would have benefitted from it nicely, and Rejuv wouldn't have hurt me either. Swiftmend hardly costs enough to make it worth a OoC proc, so I'm kinda sad it's that particular spell that is an exception to the rule.
Post by
39134
This post was from a user who has deleted their account.
Post by
Trishi
would prefer it if OoC affected Rejuvenation instead of Swiftmend, since Swiftmend is as dirt cheap as Nourish, except it CAN eat up a clearcast.
At least it is nigh impossible to waste a OoC on Swiftmend, unless you are very unlucky.
Post by
TheReal
I have a hard time figuring out exactly what Omen of Clarity makes free of charge.
Regrowth, Healing Touch, and Swiftmend.
Post by
Raleandris
would prefer it if OoC affected Rejuvenation instead of Swiftmend, since Swiftmend is as dirt cheap as Nourish, except it CAN eat up a clearcast.
At least it is nigh impossible to waste a OoC on Swiftmend, unless you are very unlucky.
It happens more often than you'd think.
Post by
260787
This post was from a user who has deleted their account.
Post by
Shadax
Unless I'm grossly mistaken, the way it works is that when the mana cost is charged to the character, if the OoC buff is active, it is consumed, and no mana is charged, meaning that if you have the buff when any of those three spells finishes, you lose OoC.
Post by
Temes
Those two spells are the only exceptions to the tooltip.
And being that OoC can only be used by three spells, two exceptions seems like quite a large number.
Post by
curlymon
Those two spells are the only exceptions to the tooltip.
And being that OoC can only be used by three spells, two exceptions seems like quite a large number.
Except that Moonkin, Cat and Bear all make use of the procs as well...
Post Reply
You are not logged in. Please
log in
to post a reply or
register
if you don't already have an account.